European e-bike standard EN15194

The current revision of the EN15194: 2017 has now created a single European standard for electric bicycles that includes all components.
E-bike
© pd-f.de/rm.de

Electromotor assisted wheels, so-called EPAC Electric Power Assisted Cycles, are vehicles that are equipped with pedals and an electric auxiliary motor and are mainly used on the road.

The previous standard covered only the electrical part of the electric bikes in question. For the mechanical part, the manufacturers were referred to the standard ISO 4210 for conventional bicycles. The EN 15194: 2017 for electric assisted wheels EPAC now covers the complete electric bicycle. This change has been made because the mechanical part of an electric bicycle is subject to stricter requirements than a conventional bicycle.

What scope does the standard have?

Use on public roads for commercial and private purposes
electrical assistance only when pedaling
Max. Rated continuous power 250 W
Max. Support speed 25 km / h
Saddle height min. 635 mm

What is described in the standard?

Requirements and test methods
Behavior in case of malfunctions
Illumination of the bicycle according to StVO
Contents of the instructions

When purchasing an electric bike that complies with EN 15194: 2017, the buyer is assured that the electric drive and components meet the minimum requirements of the European standard and that the interaction of the components works.

Not included in the EN 15194: 2017 electric tricycles (exclusively for two-wheelers) and electric bicycles for hire at unmanned stations. By the end of April 2018, Member States must transpose the draft standard into national law.

Published on 05.01.2018
Further Information

DIN Institute: Brochure Standardized Bicycles
Webshop Austrian Standards
Articles on Bike Europe (English)

Source: https://www.klimaaktiv.at/mobilitaet/radfahren/ENorm-15194.html

==========================================
Title (English): Cycles Electrically power assisted cycles EPAC Bicycles; English version EN 15194: 2009 + A1: 2011

Introduction Post:

DIN EN 15194: 2009 + A1: 2011 changes the DIN EN 15194: 2009-06, which contains requirements for electric motor assisted cycles (EPAC). Due to the limitation of the voltage to 48 V DC, there are no special requirements for EPACs with regard to protection against electrical hazards. This European Standard has been prepared in response to Europe-wide needs. The aim of the standard is the assessment of electric motor-assisted wheeled vehicles, which are excluded from the type approval according to directive 2002 / 24 / EG. EPACs are vehicles used in the same traffic areas as cars, trucks and motorcycles, mainly on the road. Chapter 8 of the 97 / 24 / EC directive contains a very high level for testing the electromagnetic compatibility of electronic components with 30 V / m, although this depends on the field of application and the application. Interference with EPAC's electronic equipment that interferes with off-highway use could pose a significant security risk for users of EPACs. EN 61000-6-1 and EN 61000-6-3 are the applicable standards for residential, commercial, and small-home appliances that do not meet the EMC requirements for road surface survey. EMC tests in accordance with these standards are only carried out with 3 V / m, ie 10% of the value specified in chapter 8 of the 97 / 24 / EC directive. These standards are unsuitable for achieving the mandatory level of safety. This European Standard is intended for use with electric motor-assisted wheeled vehicles with a maximum rated continuous power of 0,25 kW, whereby the power output is gradually reduced and finally switched off as soon as the vehicle reaches a speed of 25 km / h or before, when the driver adjusts the pedal drive. This European Standard specifies safety requirements and test methods for evaluating the design and assembly of electric motor assisted bicycles and their assemblies for installations with a battery voltage up to 48 V DC or a built-in battery charger with a voltage input of 230 V. This European Standard specifies requirements and test methods for motor power management systems, electrical circuits including the charging system, for the evaluation of the design and assembly of electric motor assisted wheels and their assemblies for systems with voltages up to and including 48 V DC or a built-in battery charger with a voltage input of 230 V fixed. DIN EN 15194 belongs to a series that deals with bicycles. European standards in this series are: DIN EN 14764, city and trekking bicycles, safety requirements and test methods DIN EN 14765, children's bicycles Safety requirements and test methods DIN EN 14766, mountain bikes Safety requirements and test methods DIN EN 14781, racing bicycles Safety requirements and test methods DIN EN 14872, bicycles Accessories for bicycles Porter DIN EN 15496, bicycles Requirements and test methods for bicycle locks DIN EN 15532, bicycles Terminology. This European Standard has been prepared by Technical Committee CEN / TC 333 Bicycles, the secretariat of which is held by UNI (Italy). The competent German committee is the working committee NA 112-06-01 AA bicycles for general and sporting use in the standards committee sports and leisure equipment (NASport) in DIN.

Change note:

The following changes have been made to DIN EN 15194: 2009 06:
a) Circuit requirements have been changed;
b) requirements for checking the mode of starting assistance have been changed;
c) Requirements for testing the maximum speed with electromotive assistance has been changed.

Source: https://www.beuth.de/de/norm/din-en-15194/142608251

Europäische E-Bike Norm EN15194

Mit der aktuellen Überarbeitung der EN15194:2017 wurde nun ein einheitlicher europäischer Standard für Elektro-Fahrräder geschaffen, der alle Komponenten umfasst.
E-Fahrrad
© pd-f.de/r-m.de

Elektromotorisch unterstützte Räder, sogenannte EPAC Electric Power Assisted Cycles, sind Fahrzeuge, die mit Pedalen und einem elektrischen Hilfsmotor ausgestattet sind und hauptsächlich auf der Straße verwendet werden.

Die bisherige Norm umfasste nur den elektrischen Teil der betreffenden Elektrofahrräder. Für den mechanischen Teil wurden die Hersteller auf die Norm ISO 4210 für konventionelle Fahrräder verwiesen. Die EN 15194:2017 für elektromotorisch unterstützte Räder EPAC deckt jetzt das komplette Elektrofahrrad ab. Diese Änderung wurde vorgenommen, weil der mechanische Teil eines Elektro-Fahrrades strengeren Anforderungen als bei einem herkömmlichen Fahrrad unterliegt.

Welchen Geltungsbereich hat die Norm?

Benutzung auf öffentlichen Straßen für gewerbliche und private Zwecke
elektrische Unterstützung nur beim Treten in die Pedale
max. Nenndauerleistung 250 W
max. Unterstützungsgeschwindigkeit 25 km/h
Sattelhöhe min. 635 mm

Was ist in der Norm beschrieben?

Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren
Verhalten bei Fehlfunktionen
Beleuchtung des Fahrrades entsprechend StVO
Inhalt der Gebrauchsanleitung

Beim Kauf eines Elektro-Fahrrads, das der EN 15194:2017 entspricht, ist somit für den Käufer sichergestellt, dass E-Antrieb und Komponenten den Mindestanforderungen der Europäischen Norm entsprechen und das Zusammenspiel der Komponenten funktioniert.

Nicht berücksichtigt werden in der EN 15194:2017 elektrische Dreiräder (da ausschließlich für Zweiräder) sowie Elektro-Fahrräder für den Verleih an unbemannten Stationen. Bis Ende April 2018 müssen die Mitgliedsstaaten den Norm-Entwurf in nationales Recht überführen.

Veröffentlicht am 05.01.2018
Weiterführende Informationen

DIN Institut: Broschüre Genormte Fahrräder
Webshop Austrian Standards
Artikel auf Bike Europe (Englisch)

Quelle: https://www.klimaaktiv.at/mobilitaet/radfahren/ENorm-15194.html

==========================================
Titel (Englisch): Cycles Electrically power assisted cycles EPAC Bicycles; German version EN 15194:2009+A1:2011

Einführungsbeitrag:

DIN EN 15194:2009+A1:2011 ändert die DIN EN 15194:2009-06, welche Anforderungen für elektromotorisch unterstützte Räder (EPAC, en: electric power assisted cycles) enthält. Aufgrund der Begrenzung der elektrischen Spannung auf 48 V Gleichstrom gelten keine besonderen Anforderungen für EPACs im Hinblick auf den Schutz vor elektrischen Gefährdungen. Diese Europäische Norm wurde als Antwort auf den europaweiten Bedarf erarbeitet. Ziel der Norm ist die Bewertung von elektromotorisch unterstützten Rädertypen, die von der Typzulassung nach Richtlinie 2002/24/EG ausgeschlossen sind. EPACs sind Fahrzeuge, die auf den gleichen Verkehrsflächen verwendet werden wie Autos, LKW und Motorräder, also hauptsächlich auf der Straße. Kapitel 8 der Richtlinie 97/24/EG enthält einen sehr hohen Wert für die Prüfung der elektromagnetischen Verträglichkeit elektronischer Bauteile mit 30 V/m, dies ist allerdings von Einsatzbereich und Anwendung abhängig. Eingriffe in die elektronische Anlage von EPACs, die einen Eingriff in den öffentlichen Straßenverkehr außerhalb des Anwendungsbereiches darstellen, könnten wesentliche Sicherheitsrisiken für den Anwender von EPACs bedeuten. EN 61000-6-1 sowie EN 61000-6-3 sind geltende Normen für Geräte in Wohnbereichen, Geschäfts- und Gewerbebereichen sowie Kleinbetrieben, die bei der EMV-Prüfung nicht die Werte erreichen, die für Straßenverkehrsflächen erforderlich sind. EMV-Prüfungen nach diesen Normen werden lediglich mit 3 V/m, also 10 % des in Kapitel 8 der Richtlinie 97/24/EG festgelegten Wertes, durchgeführt. Diese Normen sind ungeeignet für das Erreichen des zwingend erforderlichen Sicherheitsniveaus. Diese Europäische Norm ist für elektromotorisch unterstützte Rädertypen mit einer maximalen Nenndauerleistung von 0,25 kW vorgesehen, wobei die Leistungsabgabe schrittweise reduziert und schließlich abgeschaltet wird, sobald das Fahrzeug eine Geschwindigkeit von 25 km/h erreicht oder vorher, wenn der Fahrer den Pedalantrieb einstellt. Diese Europäische Norm legt sicherheitstechnische Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren zur Bewertung der Konstruktion und des Zusammenbaus von elektromotorisch unterstützten Fahrrädern und deren Baugruppen für Anlagen mit einer Batterie-Spannung bis 48 V Gleichstrom oder einem eingebauten Batterieladegerät mit einem Spannungseingang von 230 V fest. Diese Europäische Norm legt Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren für Motorleistungs- Managementsysteme, elektrische Stromkreise einschließlich des Ladesystems, zur Bewertung der Konstruktion und des Zusammenbaus von elektromotorisch unterstützten Rädern und deren Baugruppen für Systeme mit einer Spannung bis einschließlich 48 V Gleichstrom oder einem eingebauten Batterieladegerät mit einem Spannungseingang von 230 V fest. DIN EN 15194 gehört zu einer Serie, die sich mit Fahrrädern befasst. Europäische Normen in dieser Serie sind: DIN EN 14764, City- und Trekkingfahrräder, Sicherheitstechnische Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren DIN EN 14765, Kinderfahrräder Sicherheitstechnische Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren DIN EN 14766, Geländefahrräder (Mountainbikes) Sicherheitstechnische Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren DIN EN 14781, Rennräder Sicherheitstechnische Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren DIN EN 14872, Fahrräder Zubehör für Fahrräder Gepäckträger DIN EN 15496, Fahrräder Anforderungen und Prüfverfahren für Fahrradschlösser DIN EN 15532, Fahrräder Terminologie. Diese Europäische Norm wurde vom Technischen Komitee CEN/TC 333 Fahrräder erarbeitet, dessen Sekretariat vom UNI (Italien) gehalten wird. Das zuständige deutsche Gremium ist der Arbeitsausschuss NA 112-06-01 AA Fahrräder für allgemeine und sportliche Benutzung im Normenausschuss Sport- und Freizeitgerät (NASport) im DIN.

Änderungsvermerk:

Gegenüber DIN EN 15194:2009 06 wurden folgende Änderungen vorgenommen:
a) Anforderungen zum Stromkreis wurden geändert;
b) Anforderungen zur Prüfung des Modus der Anfahrunterstützung wurden geändert;
c) Anforderungen zur Prüfung der maximalen Geschwindigkeit mit elektromotorischer Unterstützung wurde geändert.

Quelle: https://www.beuth.de/de/norm/din-en-15194/142608251